Hilda Vallin Feigenbaum Memorial Lecture Series

Hilda Vallin Feigenbaum Lecture Series Presents Talk on Jewish Identity in the U.S.

Alan Cooperman will discuss the Pew Research Center’s recent comprehensive survey on American Jews

[PITTSFIELD, MA] – On Sunday, March 30, 2014, Alan Cooperman, director of religion research at the Pew Research Center in Washington, D.C., will present Jewish Identity in the United States, a lecture on Jews and Jewish life in America based on the recent extensive survey conducted by the Pew Research Center. The 2 p.m. talk, which will include a question-and-answer period and a reception, will be given at Temple Anshe Amunim and is sponsored by the Hilda Vallin Feigenbaum Memorial Lecture Series. The event is free and open to the community. This talk has been rescheduled from its original December 15 date; it was postponed due to a snowstorm.  

The major new survey by the Pew Research Center suggests that Jewish identity is changing in America. While the vast majority of American Jews say they are proud to be Jewish, many see their Jewishness solely as a matter of culture or ancestry and do not identify with any religion, including Judaism. The extensive survey was conducted in 2013 by Pew Research Center staff members. Alan Cooperman oversaw the research project and served as lead editor of the report.

The Pew Research Center’s survey is the most comprehensive nationwide survey of American Jews in more than a decade. It has generated news coverage in the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times, as well as widespread discussion in the Jewish press and international coverage via the Associated Press, Reuters, and Agence France Presse. Cooperman has given briefings on the survey’s results to the leadership of the Jewish Federations of North America, the UJA-Federation of New York, the Orthodox Union, the American Conference of Cantors, the National Association of Temple Administrators, the board of directors of Taglit/Birthright, the Anti-Defamation League, the board and staff of the Conservative movement, the Israeli Embassy in Washington, and leaders of AIPAC, J Street, B’nai Brith, and numerous other Jewish organizations.

Alan Cooperman leads the Religion & Public Life Project at the Pew Research Center, a non-profit, nonpartisan organization that conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Known as a “fact tank,” Pew Research does not take positions on public policy debates. Cooperman is an expert on religion’s role in U.S. politics and plays a central role in planning the project’s research agenda and writing its reports. Before joining the Pew Research Center in 2009, Cooperman was a national staff reporter and editor for ten years at the Washington Post. He also served as a foreign correspondent in Moscow and Jerusalem for the Associated Press and U.S. News & World Report. He graduated magna cum laude from Harvard in 1982 and started in journalism at The Berkshire Eagle in Pittsfield, Mass. He is an author of Pew Research reports on “Mormons in America,” “Muslim Americans” and “ ‘Nones’ on the Rise,” and he was the primary editor of demographic studies of Global Christianity and the Global Religious Landscape. He has appeared on numerous media outlets, including NPR, BBC, Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty, the PBS NewsHour, NBC, ABC, CBS, CNN, Fox, MSNBC, and C-SPAN. He lives with his wife and two sons in Washington, D.C.

Temple Anshe Amunim is at 26 Broad St. in Pittsfield, MA. For more information, call 413-442-5910, email templeoffice@ansheamunim.org, or visit www.ansheamunim.org.



Feigenbaum Lecture Past Speakers

1968: Meyer Levin

1969: Dr. Leonard Fein

1970: Dr. Samuel Sandmel

1971: Dr. Eugene Borowitz

1972: Dr. Seymour Martin Lipset

1973: Dr. Joachim Prinz

1974: Dr. Franklin Littell

1975: Isaac Bashevis Singer

1975: Dr. Jacob Rader Marcus

1976: Dr. Nathan Glazer

1977: Dr. Irving Howe

1978: Dr. Abraham Leon Sachar

1979: Dr. Oscar Handlin

1980: Dr. Martin A. Cohen

1981: Max Dimont

1982: Trude Weiss-Rosmarin

1983: Rabbi Gunther Plaut

1984: Jack Rosenthal

1985: Rabbi David Saperstein

1986: Stuart Eizenstadt

1987: Dr. Marc H. Tanenbaum

1988: Rabbi Alexander Schindler

1989: Rabbi Eugene Lipman

1990: Jeff Greenfield

1991: Sander Vanocur

1992: Stephen Rosenfeld

1993: Dr. Egon Mayer

1994: Dr. Lawrence A. Hoffman

1995: Hodding Carter

1996: Congressman Barney Frank

1997: Senator Howard Metzenbaum

1998: The Honorable Abner J. Mikvah

2000: Julian Bond

2001: Stephen Roberts

2002: Bernard Kalb

2003: Dan Raviv

2004: Steven Emerson

2005: Peter Salgo, M.D.

2006: Mara Liasson

2007: Ambassador Daniel J. Kurtzer

2008: Lawrence O’Donnell

2009: Howard Fineman

2010: Ron Suskind

2011: Martin S. Indyk

2012: Eleanor Clift


Website developed by Pogstone Inc. powered by Shul Suite